Stay up-to-date on all things University Book Store: author signings, special events, sales, promos, and more. Sign up today!
  • Home
  • /
  • Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary

Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary

by Laura Shovan

ISBN: 9780553521405

SKU: 10644049
$6.99
$6.99

Condition

Features

Winner of a Cybils Award in Poetry
Winner of an Arnold Adoff Poetry Honor Award for New Voices
An NCTE Notable Verse Novel
A Bank Street College of Education Best Children’s Book of the Year
An ILA-CBC Children’s Choice

An award-winning, big-hearted time capsule of one class’s poems during a transformative school year. A great pick for fans of Margarita Engle and Eileen Spinelli. 

Eighteen kids,
one year of poems,
one school set to close.
Two yellow bulldozers
crouched outside,
ready to eat the building
in one greedy gulp.
 
But look out, bulldozers.
Ms. Hill’s fifth-grade class
has plans for you.
They’re going to speak up 
and work together
to save their school.

Families change and new friendships form as these terrific kids grow up and move on in this whimsical novel-in-verse about finding your voice and making sure others hear it.

Other Information

Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Publication Date: 4/10/2018